1 Week Down, 11 More to Go

Playing with PicMonkey again...I'll get there.

Playing with PicMonkey again…I’ll get there.

Well, I’ve gone and done it. I officially signed up for my second half marathon. I needed something to get my rear in gear, exercise-wise, and a half will prove just that. Especially this half, a new race called The Bridge of the Goddesses, with a pretty small cap of 1500 participants. It was easy to blend in with the crowd during my first half-marathon, which was 10,000 people. My friend and I had been talking about signing up for a run, so when she texted me last week to tell me she had finally pulled the trigger on this one (it had the best swag bag, let’s just be real), I signed up as well and immediately found a 12-week training plan for beginning runners.

I know that 12-weeks isn’t a ton of time to train for a lengthy race, but that’s ok. I’m ok walking portions of the course. My last half was all walking (though I forced my mom to jog with me through the finish line), and my goal for this race is to run MORE than I walk. Strive for progress, not perfection, amiright?!

The training plan I am using caps weekday runs at 5 miles, which is perfect for me, since I can squeeze my runs in during the wee hours before work. Distance increases about one mile a week, and long runs are reserved for Saturdays or Sundays. Mondays and Fridays are rest days. I don’t love running, I never have, and I probably never will, so it’s one of those things that I just want to get out of the way as soon as possible. My husband had to force me out the door this morning before it started to get too hot, and I’m glad he did. It’s so hard for me to be motivated when I get home from work, or when the sun warms up and I sweat from 10 AM to 11 PM. It may not be fun first thing in the morning, but it feels GREAT to know that I’m done.  My Fuel Band is a lot happier too.

This training coincides with our veterinarian’s recommendation that our dog shed a couple of pounds, so I’ve been forcing him to go with me. He loves it for the first mile or so, then he starts to slow down, and consequently, I start to slow down too. I run him when I can, but on warm days like today, I’ve slowed down to his pace. I shave at least a minute off my mile time when he’s not with me, but I try to remind myself that he needs the exercise as much as I do, and that his legs are much shorter. I also appreciate the company, and I talk to him a lot like a personal trainer (“You can do it Ramsay! Let’s run to that stop sign!”). I think I’m really talking to MYSELF and trying to self-motivate, but it’s less weird if I”m talking to my dog in public, right?

I’m excited to share my training with you, and I’m really proud of myself for making it 4 days this week, even if I had to modify the schedule a little bit. I’m hanging the months on my fridge and writing down my total distance and pace after every run to see my progress. Apparently this is just what I needed to get me going.

There’s lots of other things going on with Team Shupe too. Stay tuned! Our garden is huge, AND we just started our first home renovation project (which we hope to finish this week). Life is good. We are happy. And I’m sitting in front of our little AC unit right no, so I FEEL good.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

