Around Here – Spring Edition

20140604-211100.jpg

20140604-212938.jpg

20140604-213046.jpg

20140604-213133.jpg

20140604-213147.jpg

20140604-213201.jpg

Around here:
-we’ve been going to farmer’s market, every week, for strawberries and organic veggie starts for the garden (and I got the market basket of my dreams) and fresh made Popsicles and to stare at peonies
-I spent almost a week working from home with the pets while recovering from a cold that made me sound like I smoked a pack a day
-Ramsay has been ordered to lose six pounds, so we’ve been going on lengthy (aka three miles…he has short legs) walks on sunny evenings and discovering new paths and delightful neighborhoods
-we’ve been gardening up a storm (pics to come). My husband has a lovely farmer’s ran happening and my shoulders are already freckled. We’ve got lots in the works for backyard projects
-the Rose Festival Medallion Hunt was brought back this year, so we’ve taken up family treasure hunting in the last week. No success yet but I’ve found lots of parks in Portland that I want to explore

Spring makes me (and most other native Oregonians) feel alive in a way that doesn’t even seem possible in the winter. I love the sun. I love cotton jersey dresses from the clearance racks at Target and Old Navy. I love sandals. I love the smell of Home Depot, where we go weekly (seriously, if they could bottle it, I would either huff it or wear it as perfume). I love the petunia planter I put together for the front yard in an old fireplace ash bucket. I love the dog’s happy face after a long walk.

I am happy and I am healthy and there’s so much summer ahead!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Around Here – Spring Edition

  1. Tracy says:

    The color of those peionies in your picture are gorgeous! Never seen one that color. I also saw one with pink outside and white on the inside–very pretty. Mine are just a dark pink but did better this year in the bloom department until my niece and her friend proceeded to pluck them all one evening.

Leave a Reply

