Philly Cheesesteak Peppers

All day, I contemplated what to make for dinner. The big Oregon-Stanford game is tonight, and I wanted some food that was fit for football (aka delicious and slightly sinful). I finally settled on cheesesteak stuffed peppers, which were a conglomerate of inspirational recipes I found on Pinterest. And on Juanita’s chips with salsa and guac, but all I that was store bought. I just thought it sounded good. Now, for the peppers:

Ingredients
-two green bell peppers
-small onion, chopped
-6 to 8 oz. of chopped mushrooms
-a package of precut roast beef
-sliced provolone cheese
-a tablespoon or two of minced garlic
-butter, EVOO, salt, and pepper

1. Preheat oven to 400. Cut peppers in half, cut out ribs, and deseed. Line each half with a slice of cheese.
2. Sauté onion, mushrooms, and garlic over medium with a few tablespoons of butter and olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Continue to cook until onions are caramelized.
3. Dice roast beef. I was too cheap to get it from the deli case, I just bought a package of good ol’ Oscar Mayer and diced it up. Toss this in with the mushrooms and onion mix for a few minutes. Get a few crispy pieces, those are the best.
4. Scoop mixture into the peppers, as much as you can stuff in. Mine were overflowing and I was ok with that. Top each half with another piece of provolone.
5. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until cheese is browned.

This recipe was good (which kind of makes up for how the ducks are playing right now) but I need to experiment more with cooking times and temps. I prefer my peppers a little softer than these came out. Also, next time I think I will add more cheese on top. It did get nice and brown, there could have been a better crust on it. Oh well, live and learn.

20131107-194535.jpg

20131107-194549.jpg

20131107-194605.jpg

20131107-194621.jpg

20131107-194639.jpg

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

