A Month of Thanks: Days 4-6

November 4th – I’m thankful for the new weekly tradition my husband and I started, marriage check-ins. Every Sunday morning, we go get coffee and nibbles at a new coffee shop/bakery/cafe and talk about our weeks, plan our meals, and check in with each other. I fully believe that this is one of the best things we’ve ever done for US – it gets us out of the house and away from our usual distractions, puts us in a public place where we have to keep our emotions in check, and forces us to talk about issues. It’s worked well for the last three weeks, and we are thinking about combining it with church for a productive and heart-filling Sunday morning. I love my hubby. Plus, it’s also been a great excuse to eat baked goods.

November 5th – I’m thankful for my job. Even though I sometimes think I’m going to go crazy sitting at my desk, or hit someone with a stapler or something, I’m lucky to have gotten a job right out of college, and I’m extremely lucky to still have that job in today’s economy. My coworkers and managers have given me some insane opportunities, and are always thinking about what I can do to improve my resume and skill set. The people I work most closely with are awesome, and my office is casual and relaxed (or as relaxed as a business office can be). For the most part, I love what I do, and I hope to keep doing it.

November 6th – I’m happy to have the freedom to vote for the candidates and issues that I believe in. So many people don’t have the same freedom, and even though elections don’t always go my way, the point is that I can vote, without fear of persecution. I also appreciate that I can vote by mail, and don’t have to stand in line for hours 🙂

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

