Introducing…Ramsay!

 

This is Ramsay, who joined our family last week! He’s a 10 month old field spaniel-something mix, and he’s probably the calmest dog I’ve ever met in my life. He was rescued from a shelter in Riverside, CA, and we don’t know much about his history, but from what we’ve observed, he was housebroken at some point, and crate trained too.

He’s definitely still adjusting to life outside the shelter. He’s slowly starting to eat, and develop his bathroom routine, but for now he’s content to sleep allllllllllllll night, most of the day, and occasionally be dragged on walks. I feel like such a mama, because I am so excited each time he makes a small bit of progress…like tonight, he started eating without being prompted/having food shoved at him, and I about cried I was so happy. Probably because I’m a worrywart.

Sidenote – right now, he is playing with some rawhide bacon. I’m so proud.

 

He LOVED his bath the other day – he was a good sport after the first couple of minutes. After we managed to get him mostly dry and brushed, he was really energetic and ran up and down the stairs, itching his nose on the carpet, and then decided that maybe fetch would be really fun with the squeaky toys at 11:30 PM. That’s actually the most energetic we’ve seen him.

 

We think he’s pretty happy with us, judging by this picture. It will still take a while for him to get adjusted, and I won’t stop worrying until he does, but he’s a great member of our little family.

Plus I’ve wanted a dog LITERALLY my entire life, so now I feel like a part of me that’s been missing for 23 years has been found. When I was a kid, I begged and begged my parents for a dog, and when they told me no, I wrote a letter to the Humane Society about how my parents were so mean, and I was really responsible and deserved a dog. They responded with a nice letter and a packet of information about how much goes into taking care of a dog. Then, I proceeded to drag around a scrub brush on a leash for a few weeks (its’ name was Abby), hoping that someone would tell my parents “just get her a dog already, that’s so sad!”

And now, here he is. Currently sitting on the floor chewing on a dental bone.

I’m very happy 🙂

In other news, today’s WOD was an ass-kicker. Started off with a 400 m weighted run (40 lbs), then a 15 minute AMRAP with 30 DUs and 10 pull-ups, followed by another weighted 400 m. I was a crab after it was all said and done. But I did do an entire workout with banded pull-ups this time, which is an accomplishment. Though they weren’t pretty. I managed to squeeze in 4 rounds and my 5th set of double unders.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

