Yesterday’s WOD (AKA OWWWWWW!)

Damn, I spent the day trying to recover from yesterday’s killer WOD (killer mostly because I’ve been slacking since I got back from my Midwestern vacation). Here’s how it went down:

Strength Work

-deadlifts, Wendler-style, up to 135 lbs.

WOD

5 rounds for time

– 8 deadlifts (started at 125 lbs., dropped to 115 lbs.)

– 8 ball slams (14 lbs.)

-200 m run

14:13

The running always kills me. Even 200 meters, in muggy heat, just zaps my energy and leaves me sucking air like a fish out of water. Sad. I’m working on getting stronger with my running, but it’s slow slow slow. Really I’m slow slow slow. Overall I was pretty happy with my time, as I wasn’t as far as usual behind the rest of the class. Today, however, I am extremely sore from not lifting ANYTHING for a few weeks.

One of the things I’ve discovered with CrossFit is that you really have to focus on yourself and your personal improvements, rather than comparing yourself against everyone else. This is a goal I’m working on for myself, as I’m always hard on myself when I come in behind other people. The fact of the matter is, I have improved a LOT since I started back in October. I get a lot more compliments on my looks, but even BETTER than that is being able to brag that I can lift 145 lbs. (my deadlift max), when I started at 17 lbs. (a trainer bar and two wooden disks, mostly to learn technique). I have some badass biceps. I feel better about myself. I have more energy and am less stressed. I try to focus on all of these things instead of the fact that I’m 1.5 rounds behind everyone else. Sometimes I am successful. Sometimes not.

How do you keep yourself motivated when you have a hard time seeing your improvements?

Tagged

One thought on “Yesterday’s WOD (AKA OWWWWWW!)

  1. Looks like a great WOD! and don’t worry about the people around you at crossfit. You can use it to your advantage or disadvantage…. I have been LITERALLY the slowest to finish for the WHOLE day before… by a minute or so. You have to focus on just meeting personal goals… then when you beat someone it is like a litte surprise 🙂

Leave a Reply

